Options

Custom Built Desktop

myedjo24myedjo24 Member Posts: 92 ■■□□□□□□□□
In the IT realm I am pretty much a complete newb when it comes to hardware. I have always been completely uninterested in how a device turns on and functions as long as it turns on and functions, which has kind of hindered me right now since I kind of want to buy a new desktop but want to save some money and still have quality. I would like the total tab to be under 1k but if it's slightly over it's fine.

The desktop is going to be used for gaming and for multimedia functions such as watching Netflix and would like the desktop to have a blu-ray player. I plan on splitting one video connection to my TV and the other one to a monitor near by so my wife and myself can watch tv/movie while I'm doing w/e on the computer in the same room (my desk is in the living room).

I know it's kind of a burden to put together a list like this, but I'd much appreciate it if all the parts were linked to newegg for me to just add to cart then build it myself (hopefully I can figure out, about as much I have done is replace memory and hard drives) once it arrives. I have browsed the web looking for direction on builds, but some of the posts seem to be out dated and I kind of want an up to date build.

Comments

• Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Senior Member Posts: 0 ■■■■□□□□□□
    What a great opportunity to learn about hardware. Not trying to sound mean but do the research yourself it is much more fun and rewarding that way. If you have questions along the way don't hesitate to ask. It really isn't too hard to build a machine yourself.
  • Options
    thehourmanthehourman Member Posts: 723
    Can you post the hardware that you think that is going to be part of your build?
    Is it going to be a mid-size or full-tower desktop?
    Intel or AMD?
    Nvidia or ATI?
    What kind of cooling this build going to have, is it air or water?