Options

ccna doubts plz clarify it i am beginner

purnipurni Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
can router have collision and broadcast domains????
in terms of cable computer and router are unlike or like devices and why? how?
plz have a test for me explain in detailed

Comments

• Options
    agpltagplt Member Posts: 39 ■■□□□□□□□□
    purni wrote: »
    can router have collision and broadcast domains????
    in terms of cable computer and router are unlike or like devices and why? how?
    plz have a test for me explain in detailed

It's good thing that you asked, because i am studying either for CCNA(ICND1) at first glance i thought it's easy but now i am trying to answer it in my head and beeeeeb i can't :D I only can think logically, that router have one collision domain per port the same as switch, about broadcast domain hm.. Computer can be a router but i don't think that they are like devices. Yeah i know my response is good as blank paper... I'm looking forward for answer :)
    Currently working on:
    - CCNA
    Future plans:
    - CCNA Security
    - CCNA Voice

Currently reading:

- Todd Lammle “CCNA: Cisco Certified Network Associate Study Guide, 5th Edition (640-801)
    Currently watching:
    - CBTnuggets Cisco 640-822 Jeremy Cioara

2011 10k challenge
    Pages read: 137
  • Options
    hypnotoadhypnotoad Banned Posts: 915
    In short, Yes and Yes. Router's ports have switch-like logic so they don't have collision issues like hubs. Most routers with switching built-in are advertised as switches as well -- both Cisco and small office/home office ones like linksys. Cisco routers can have switched ports built in, or you can add on a module with switch ports. It's similar with other vendors like Juniper.