passed last week after many years of procrastinating

thorshammerthorshammer Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Essentials: 871
Practical app: 868

I've been doing computer repair for over 10 years, but in a relatively rural area that simply did not necessitate addressing any certification concerns. I considered taking the test many times in the past, and I had taken and always passed many "practice" tests over the years, confident that I would easily ace the actual certification exams when/if I ever decided to do it. But the last round of practice questions I took from the CompTIA website frightened me because several of them seemed much more difficult and vague than the ones I had encountered in the past. So I opted to do an online study course to make sure I was up to snuff on the latest material covered by the exam.

I used CBTDirect which uses SkillPort study system. My biggest complaint with them is that while their course seems well-rounded, their actual practice tests seem to pull from a very narrow sampling of questions (if you repeatedly take the practice tests you tend to get many of the same questions over and over), and their course does not cover some areas in enough detail to prepare you for some of the questions you may encounter on the exam. I also discovered and reported a few wording and factual errors in their courses, which they confirmed and corrected, but had I not been absolutely certain about the errors, I could have been misled and potentially reduced my exam score in the end. For example, one paragraph in their course concerning motherboard components stated matter-of-factly, that "all current motherboards have built-in video". A statement that is certainly incorrect.