Options

Need some career direction and advice

EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
Folks, I could really do with some career advice from my peers on here. I might ramble a bit, please bear with me.

What I currently do:

I am a Systems Engineer for a Managed Services Provider doing all those routine server admin tasks you can think of, you know DNS/DHCP/AD, print Q's, backup administration, Exchange 2003 administration. Nothing really glamorous here. I will complete 2 years in the role in January. I have been getting a lot more projects in my second year in the role than I was in the first year, which is fair since I had to learn and show I could handle the big stuff. So I have been fairly busy all year. In 2011, we are almost certain to see more work roll in, we will have 2008 R2 introduced into the environment and so will Exchange 2010. Interesting times ahead, provided the new gear does come in.

What certs/education I have:

MCSA 2003 : Messaging
One short of the EA
ITILv3
An expired CCNA
Master in Telecommunications Engineering

What I want to be/do:

I quite like my current role and have learned a lot over 2 years. I make okay money with all certs paid for, a full Nuggets subscription is also tossed in. I want to be an independent consultant, get as close to the source of revenue as possible. Generally speaking, a server tech's work is billed at well over $100 an hour while I get paid a fraction of that. I want to be able to get that over-$100/hour-rate for myself doing the same thing.

I have been neglecting my studies a lot lately. Moving into my own new house and being very busy at work over the past 2 months has really eaten into the study time. Not to mention the low motivation since I am quite tired by the time I get home.