Options

College vs MCITP

2»

Comments

• Options
    GeeLoGeeLo Member Posts: 112 ■■■■□□□□□□
    erpadmin wrote: »

If I'm a hiring manager that is asking for an MCSE to support our current Windows 2003 servers and you have a resume that shows an A+ from 1999, an MCSE NT 4.0 (no 2000, no 2003...just straight up NT 4.0) and no relevant IT experience since 2000, what good is your non-expired lifetime cert then? You think those type of resumes don't exist today?

If some one just has MCSE NT on their resume, they better have some real world experience listed in regards to Windows 2000, 2003, 2008 server environments as well. What ever is listed on the resume, the person still has to pass the entire interview process. Before I was hired on one job that I had in the past, there was about 4 system administrators that "grilled" my technical knowledge about heterogeneous networks and server platforms.. for about an "hour". Companies do that quite often no matter what certs are listed on the resume.

Also to note, there are some companies out there that still run legacy workstations and servers as well, so seeing some older certs on a resume, is not that shocking. Also shows to the hiring manager that this may be a seasoned IT person that has been in the business for a while. In closing, just because the cert is old, does not mean that the individual is not up to date on the latest technologies.

In regards to your comment about security+, you also must dislike M$ certs as well.
    Vendor Neutral Certified in IT Project Management, Security, Servers, Workstations, Software, Networking, Windows, Unix and Linux and.. Cloud. :-)
  • Options
    erpadminerpadmin Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    GeeLo wrote: »