Options

OK, this is definitely technology related

ProfessorGumbyProfessorGumby Member Posts: 22 ■■■□□□□□□□
How many of you are in the same boat I'm in? I'm a Network Engineer, been at the same job a little more than 10 years, and am worrying that there could be even more layoffs. There are only 2 of us that do what we do, supporting about 400-500 PC's, but many servers, routers, etc., etc. Supporting the end user, more than anything.

So.... for those in a similar boat, what have you done to become more aware of the newer technologies out there? When I say technologies, I mean what is new/hot in I.T. I don't want to have to hit the 2011 job-hunting scene with 2004 skills. Any suggestions/ideas would be appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Michigan.... :-/ I feel for you, man. Your state has been hit hard.

On the MS side I suggest you look at Windows 7 deployment, Server 2008/2008 R2, and SharePoint. But this is with me knowing nothing about your background.
  • Options
    We are a Windows 2K3 shop, so the 2K8 makes perfect sense, and I appreciate the response.
  • Options
    PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    Certainly, as mentioned the current NOS/OS and such is a good way to invest some study time.

Security is always a good area to be familiar with. Not to dabble, but to be famiilar with so if/when you hire that project out...you have the skills to maintain it and/or know if your incoming bids are reasonable....OR invest your time and studies on Security. It's a bigger learning curve than simply upgrading your MS skills though...not difficult, but you'd want to be good, not simply 'able' to do it.

Linux is good

Social media/marketing of IT; web development; etc...

Are you looking to leave the company you are with? Or just looking to see what is a different path than what you currently are on?