Options

CCENT : Importance of having personal lab?

simplysimply Member Posts: 38 ■■□□□□□□□□
How important is it to have access to equipment ( one's personal lab ) when preparing for
1) CCENT
2) ICND2

I've read enough threads and forums to know a person can pass CCNA ( either single test or dual tests ) without using hardware.

I'm currently studying for CCENT. I have following:

CCENT/ICND1 - Odem 2nd edition
CBTNugget Videos ( CCENT/CCNA )
Boson ExSim Max ( icnd1 & icnd2 )
NetSim 8 for CCNA
Cisco CCNA Network Simulator 640-802
Cisco CCNA Portable command Guide

Above should be sufficient to get through ICND1... however, i am debating / struggling with whether or not i should invest heavily now for CCNA lab so i can practice while studying for CCENT... ( struggle because of finance / budget / cost ).

Equipment isn't so expensive, but it appears re-licensing from Cisco to get correct IOS that supports all the hands on lab exercises for CCNA is.

Problem i've encountered, is one can purchase used / gray market equipment either standalone or in kits. However, cisco's licenses are not transferable.

To get the correct IOS version that contains features for all the hands on labs for CCNA ( IPv6, VLAN, STP, etc... ), will require IOS upgrade on each piece of equipment.

Upgrading IOS ( re-licensing ) from Cisco appears to cost more than all equipment including rack, cables, etc...

I'm thinking of getting following in 12U or 16U rack:

Two Cisco 2610XM 256/48 12.4 Routers
One Cisco 2611XM dual Etherent 256/48 12.4 Router
One 3550 Layer 3 Switch
Two Cisco 2950 Switches

Not sure whether it's necessary this early ( for CCENT ) or should postpone until ICND2. I do know learning is key.

For me, the Journey ( knowledge i gain ) is just as important and significant as the Destination ( obtaining certificate ). I want to know, understand and be able to articulate & explain what I’m learning as I’m learning. I want to be able to implement and demonstrate what i've learned.