Options

Storage bottlenecks and Performance reviews

staggerleestaggerlee Member Posts: 90 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi all,
/* Note this is a bit of a long post sorry about that just getting slightly confused on the subject and how best to handle it! */

This is part SQL and part SAN related. Im mainly interested in the SAN performance review side hence sticking it here
Ive recently been part of a team building a new SQL Cluster. Now that it's built management has asked for a performance review of what the system can handle. Basically we brought the servers a while ago (SAN even longer) and since then we have had some changes where

A: A new website will be connecting to the SQL server.
B: A business app we just brought has been having a lot of troubles and people want to find out where the problems are coming from.

So im pretty new to whole world of SANS and performance related info. Im trying to get my head around it and i keep running into questions that im not sure where to look for the right answers.
Our current set up for the SAN as I know it (coming with n00b eyes im afraid)

2 SQL Servers clustered. Each server has 2 HBAs
2 Windows File Servers clustered. Not sure if there’s 2HBAs i would expect so.
A VMWare server that have Exchange VMs on it we currently have 5-10 users on it But will be moving the rest of the users onto it totalling around 1000 users.

Each HBA connects to a Broccade switch that goes to JBODS.

The data for each of the 3 sets of servers are on different phy disks.

Not sure if that is enough info but im hoping it’s a starting point for some experienced eyes to give some insight!
So for the website our project manager wants to know things like: Can the system handle 1000 users to the site. from that i guess that means i need to test:

A: 1000 users reading SQL data at the same time.
B: 1000 users writing SQL data at the same time.