Options

Doing it backwards. Job first, cert second?

careerchangecareerchange Registered Users Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
OK, so I landed a job as a Network Engineer and am lucky enough to be configuring tons of routers and switches (Cisco, Juniper, Brocade) in a lab environment. Basically, they hand me a truck load of routers and I configure/ship them to our customers.

I have little experience, but am learning fast from my co-workers. After a few months I can really get around a router. My problem is that my co-workers are tiring of teaching me and I have to kick it up a notch. CCNA should be perfect right? I nailed the Comptia Net+, (Did me a lot of good) but really need to get smarter with routers.

What version/edition of Sybex should I get? Is the box set good? I've used Sybex for many certifications and always come back to them. Please let me know if this is a good start. Any good lab training? Videos? Side note: I also have a few 2600 routers at home to toy with, but the 3845's at work keep me learning plenty...

Thanks !

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    You're not doing it backwards, you are doing it right man!

As far as study material, I'm a fan of the Odom books and the CBT Nuggets by Cioara.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    chrisonechrisone Member Posts: 2,278 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I would recommend the Cisco press books over the Sybex.

CCNA Preparation Library, 7th Edition
    Certs: CISSP, EnCE, OSCP, CRTP, eCTHPv2, eCPPT, eCIR, LFCS, CEH, SPLK-1002, SC-200, SC-300, AZ-900, AZ-500, VHL:Advanced+
    2023 Cert Goals: SC-100, eCPTX
  • Options
    NetwurkNetwurk Member Posts: 1,155 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Job first, certs second is the best way to go but not always possible (my thought is that the OP probably already knows this).