Options

Should I extend my temp contract or not?

Danny boyDanny boy Member Posts: 41 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi guys, I have a bit of a dilemma which I am unsure how to proceed with.

Basically I have been working as a password ninja in local government for the past 14 months as a temp and I'm sick of it. There is a recruitment freeze for permanent jobs, which means there is no careeer progression for even permanent member of staff and I'm not learning anything new. I originally was due to be here for just a 4 month contract but it has been extended every few months, and my latest contract is due to expire at the end of March.

I have tried to make myself more employable by doing an online HNC in computing, which I am in the first year of doing and am going for my Comptia A+ exams in February. I also have a BA and MA in History. I have started to look for new helpdesk jobs in the area since the beginning of last week, had two calls back from agencies the day after I applied to job but nothing since then (I know its early days).

However today I was asked by my boss today whether I wished to extend my contract to the end of June. I'm unsure what to do as I do not wish to stay until the end of June, but am concerned that I might find it difficult to get a job by the end of March. Also if I was to accept the contract and then got offered a permanent job/ better temp job would it be bad if I left? I think my notice, as I have the job through an agency, is about a week.

Any input would be really helpful.

Comments

• Options
    za3bourza3bour Member Posts: 1,062 ■■■■□□□□□□
    From what you're saying it seems that you don't have much to do during your work which is an excellent opportunity for you to study and do some labs on a test PC if you have.

I would study while working and try to finish as much certificates from now till June, don't quit your job until you find a better one that would be my advice.