Options

IT Forensics certs

MasterBullfrogMasterBullfrog Member Posts: 28 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello guys,

I'm a senior at the moment and wanted to do as much as possible to further my chances of landing a job by graduation (FALL 2011). My major is in CIS and up until recently I have been debating between Forensics and security/auditing. Is it possible to do both?

I'm going to start a certification program that my school offers which will cover various forensics tools, etc. It's essentially a new Forensics certification offered by my school.

Is there anything else you guys think I should do before graduation? Anything else I can acquire before I'm done? Any other skills or tools I should master?

Comments

• Options
    PristonPriston Member Posts: 999 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I would think most of the Forensics and security/auditing jobs are DoD jobs.

So CompTIA Security+ (2011 Release) would be a nice start
    SSCP and CISSP are others to look at aswell
    A.A.S. in Networking Technologies
    A+, Network+, CCNA
  • Options
    rogue2shadowrogue2shadow Member Posts: 1,501 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I know its extremely hated but the C|EH / C|HFI combo might help you out as well.
  • Options
    ibcritnibcritn Member Posts: 340
    It is possible to do both, but typically the roles are separated.

Auditing/Security - learn port scanning, vulnerability scanning which can be a means to an end for a vulnerability assessment (Nessus, Nmap, Retina) are some options of tools.

-Don't get my wrong knowing the tools isn't the only requirement....understand how ports react to various types of TCP/UDP packets. How to calculate risk, etc....don't just play with the tool and think your solid.

- How these terms relate Risk, Vulnerability, Exploit, Threat, Threat agent, Safeguard. Understanding how these terms relate is important.