Options

Any production DBA's here? Need help

Dryst999Dryst999 Member Posts: 81 ■■□□□□□□□□
My employer has offered to train me to become their production DBA. The problem is that I have no SQL experience, I always wanted to move into an admin role but just thinking about learning something ENTIRELY new is intimidating. They know it will take 1yr+ for me to get acclimated and they are willing to give me more and more responsibility as I progress into the role, they know I work hard and am not a maverick who will screw up something by not taking my time and paying attention while working in the databases which is why they are interested in training me.

I'm debating on taking the opportunity, I never thought to pursue becoming a DBA because i've never been a fan of programming. As a production DBA I know I will be in charge of the backups/monitoring of the SQL servers and will not dive deep into the SQL language. It's still EXTREMELY scary to think of screwing up a database though, i'm in the healthcare field and databases are the bread and butter of our company.

Any of you have any insight or suggestions, i'm thinking I should take the opportunity since I know how hard it is to get into a DBA admin role with no experience... I just didn't see my career going down this path; not that it's a bad thing.

Comments

• Options
    erpadminerpadmin Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    You will find that SQL administration is a JOY to administer. Unlike regular programming, T-SQL (or PL/SQL if you're administering Oracle, but the syntax differences are minor) is a CINCH to learn. If you can read English, you can write a SQL query.