Options

Net+ and Sec+ CE

RichAsskikrRichAsskikr Member Posts: 51 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi there,

I currently hold a 'Certified for Life' Network+ cert. and I am currently studying for Sec+.

Am I right in thinking that when I pass Sec+ CE, my Net+ cert. automatically becomes CE as well?

If not, are there any advantages to me re-doing my Net+ cert to become Net+ CE.
(other than refreshing knowledge. I also dont and never will work for DoD)

Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    eansdadeansdad Member Posts: 775 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I don't think the Net+ will go automatically unless you register it for the CE program. Then when you pass the Sec+ it will renew the Net+. Still not sure about the whole when the 3 years starts. If you get a cert then take another a few months later and it renews the 1st what is the 1st certs renew date type thing.
  • Options
    michaelcoxmichaelcox Member Posts: 105
    those who pass A+, Network+, or Security+ after January 1, 2011 are automatically enrolled in CompTIA CE program. After earning a higher level certification, lower level ones will gain CE status, after paying the enrollment fee.

So, to answer your question, yes.

Courses Completed at WGU ( 8 ):
    Term 1 (April 2011): EWB2, WSV1, BRV1, BSV1 | Term 2 (October 2011): LET1, ORC1 | Term 3 (April 2012): MGC1, TPV1
    Courses Required Graduate WGU with BS - IT: SEC ( 8 ):
    BOV1, KET1, WDV1, KFT1, ABV1, TWA1, BLV1, CPW4
  • Options
    rogue2shadowrogue2shadow Member Posts: 1,501 ■■■■■■■■□□
    michaelcox wrote: »
    those who pass A+, Network+, or Security+ after January 1, 2011 are automatically enrolled in CompTIA CE program. After earning a higher level certification, lower level ones will gain CE status, after paying the enrollment fee.

So, to answer your question, yes.

+1. If you end up working for a DoD agency or contractor (never say never!), your employer will most likely reimburse you or pay for the continuing education annual fee.