Managed Services NOC or Data Center

gaby_978gaby_978 Member Posts: 222
Guys,

I am currently working in a NOC for a Managed Services Company. I just got a job offer on a Data Center. I currently have my CCNP but not much experience. In my current position i feel like I am never going to get the experience I need since most of the time I am just baby sitting clients network and calling out carrier issues. The Data Center job has a better schedule and much better benefits although the pay is the same. Not much worry about the pay. I want a position where I can truly get hands on.

QUESTION

What is better for hands on? NOC or Data Center. I have never worked on a Data Center before so I dont know what to expect. In the NOC I deal with lots of different things aside from Cisco.
‎"If you spend too much time thinking about a thing,
you'll never get it done"

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    What are you going to be doing at the Data Center? It might be a lot of the same thing if you are in the NOC for the DC.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • gaby_978gaby_978 Member Posts: 222
    They said its mostly Layer2 issues. The job description says: configure, install, troubleshoot, and maintain data circuits/equipment for clients
    I just feel in the NOC I am just wasting my time. I work nights so there is nothing going on. The Data Center is Mon-Fri 9-5.
  • shodownshodown Member Posts: 2,271
    Sounds like you will just be troubleshooting circuit there also. I would find out if there is any exposure to any other technologies there.
    Currently Reading

CUCM SRND 9x/10, UCCX SRND 10x, QOS SRND, SIP Trunking Guide, anything contact center related