Options

New here, looking for advice

IUgrad505IUgrad505 Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I'm new here but thought it would be a good place to come for some advice from people who know alot more than I do. This may end up being a much longer post than I intended, but thanks ALOT to anyone who reads the whole thing and has any advice.

Here's some background: I graduated from IU (Indiana) in 2005 with a BS in Informatics, which was very new at the time (I think I was only the 5th graduating class). I took 2 courses in Java, one in networking, web programming and the other "major" courses that didn't matter all that much (mathematical foundations, social informatics, organizational informatics, etc.) We had to choose a cognate area, so I chose Telecom applications - video editing, Flash, DVD authoring, 3D modeling and animation, etc - at the time I really wanted to go into graphics and special effects, and that was the closest I could get. Essentially I had an IT major but not really an IT education.

All my work experience has been in multimedia, post production, DVD production, and web design. I was laid off from a full-time job 2 years ago, and since then I've been doing freelance web work and looking for a new career path. I've been back and forth the whole time trying to figure out what to do, but I'm very interested in the hot new area of infosec, IA, forensics or whatever it may be.

I have more technical knowledge than the average person, but definitely nowhere near as much as a real IT pro. I'd love some advice on where to start. I took 2 online courses through UCLA Extension, Intro to TCP/IP and Intro to Information Security Concepts. They taught me a little but, but not a whole lot more than I already knew and not enough to get a job in IT.