OSI Model.. is the Cisco book wrong?

sentimetalsentimetal Member Posts: 103
Heyo. I just started learning network fundamentals with the Cisco Network Academy via a community college. We're currently going over the OSI model; the first chapter vaguely going over each layer and comparing TCP/IP to it, etc. and the next chapter going over the application layers. This week in class, we did a review of the test for last week's chapter (the vague overview of OSI) and one of the questions was "In which layer is data segmented?" - which I answered the transport layer... which is what the book originally said. The answer key, which the instructor went over, says the Network Layer provides data segmentation. I can't complain too much, as I received a 97% on the test... but I can't help but wonder why they're so contradictory.

I've read many different sources, including http://www.techexams.net/technotes/ccna/osimodel.shtml and they all indicate that the Transport layer provides data segmentation/desegmentation. I

Now, keep in mind I have no networking knowledge prior to the three weeks of class I've taken so far (I come from an accounting background), so pardon the elementary question. I have, however, been studying 8 hours+ a week for each chapter, and gobble up any new information I can that pertains to my class without going too far ahead.

If I'm correct, and it is the Transport layer, I'm a bit concerned that my instructor didn't catch the error. icon_cheese.gif

Anyone care to elaborate?

Comments

• CrapMasterZeroCrapMasterZero Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
    sentimetal wrote: »