Options

A+ today! and Intro

RPMar52RPMar52 Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
Good afternoon all,

I wanted to introduce myself and thank everyone for the advice that they may or may not have realized they were giving, but that I certainly benefited from! I'm new to the forums and to the IT field. I've been tinkering with computers for about 15 years and am pretty computer savvy, but nothing along the lines of official IT work. I just separated from the Army and am looking to get into the IT field. My short term plan is to get the CompTIA trio in order get my foot in the door, preferably in a network or systems admin job but anything that will allow me to get real experience while pursuing some higher level and vendor-specific certifications. Longer term I'm planning on a MS in INFOSEC or Information Assurance and to work in that field. Any advice about this path would be greatly appreciated.

I passed my 701 yesterday and 702 today and got my A+ cert, also my first IT cert! I've been reading this forum but haven't yet posted. All of the advice has been very helpful.

My regimen: Skillsoft Computer Based Training, Professor Messer's videos, Myers' AIO and Passport. Got the PP first so I read that, but I'd recommend the AIO. I probably could've passed using just the AIO, but I was more concerned with mastering the material then answering 200 questions on it.

Anyways...thanks for the advice and see you all around...off to the Network+ forum and studies!
Studying for: Linux+; C|EH

Comments

• Options
    Armor149Armor149 Member Posts: 115 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Congrats on the pass! icon_thumright.gif
  • Options
    Dakinggamer87Dakinggamer87 Member Posts: 4,016 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Congrats on pass!! icon_thumright.gif
    *Associate's of Applied Sciences degree in Information Technology-Network Systems Administration
    *Bachelor's of Science: Information Technology - Security, Master's of Science: Information Technology - Management