Options

Master's Degree and INFOSEC Career Advice

RPMar52RPMar52 Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
Good afternoon all,

I'm new to the forums and new to the IT world. I'm more computer literate than your average user...been using/modifying/fixing minor issues for friends and family for about 15 years, but I have no true IT employment-level experience.

Looking to start a career in INFOSEC/Information Assurance/Cybersecurity. Just got A+ certified and I'm studying for the Network+ and then Security+. I'm hoping these will get me an IT job where I can start learning and gain experience..I realize experience trumps degrees and certifications, but that all three are necessary.

I'm thinking that a systems admin or junior network admin role would be a good goal to shoot for having these certifications. Any input or correction on that assumption would be welcomed.

I have a liberal arts bachelor's degree and qualify for the new GI Bill, which will pay for all or most of graduate school. Any recommendations for schools and or programs? Advantages to brick and mortar vs. online since cost isn't the primary consideration? I've been looking at MS in IT with concentrations in IA or Cybersecurity. Anyone have any experience with those programs? Are they worth the money in terms of knowledge gained and jobs opened?

Thanks in advance for any advice and mentorship you can provide!
Studying for: Linux+; C|EH

Comments

• Options
    phantasmphantasm Member Posts: 995
    Any type of admin position will be hard pressed to obtain without experience. Unfortunately, you'll need to start out on either the helpdesk or in a NOC environment. These jobs entail endless hours of answering phones and creating tickets and doing basic troubleshooting. After a few years of experience there you can look to move on.