Options

What Certs to add to CISSP

geek4godgeek4god Member Posts: 187
Okay, I am a grad student in Information Assurance and will be done in December. My Goal is to get the CISSP late this fall just before graduation. I work for a small organization and have 12 years of very general experience (very wide but not very deep). I have the time, energy and money to pick up a few certificates before I graduate. What certifications do you view as most valuable to go with CISSP? I will be looking for an entry level job as I have no real security experience so I want some breadth and flexibility to go with the CISSP..

Comments

• Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Member Posts: 0 ■■■□□□□□□□
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • Options
    sabooher wrote: »
    Unless you can account for at least 5 years of experience covering 2 or more of the 10 domains, you will only be able to achieve the associate of (isc)2 designation. You will then have to wait to gain the experience before being endorsed. Nothing wrong with thw associate, you just couldn't officially call yourself a cissp. You may want to consider the security+ as well or the sscp.

I was aware of that.. But the associate covers DOD Directive 8570 and that is what I am concerned with. I have security+ now and SSCP seemed redundant with the CISSP and I would be an Associate in it as well..
  • Options
    rogue2shadowrogue2shadow Member Posts: 1,501 ■■■■■■■■□□
    geek4god wrote: »
    I was aware of that.. But the associate covers DOD Directive 8570 and that is what I am concerned with. Have security+ and SSCP seemed redundant with SSCP and I would be an Associate in it as well..