Options

Asking the boss for more $$$!?!?

BigO1120BigO1120 Member Posts: 110
What's up everyone!?!?!?

Well, here is my question (if you don't know by now by reading the title of this topic). I just received my A+ this past Friday. I currently work as a Systems Support Analyst with almost 6 years of experience for a major healthcare company and a lot of my co-workers are telling that since I am now certified I should approach my boss and ask them (him & her) for an increase in salary.

Now...I make pretty good money (I'm not complaining) but who wouldn't mind making more!?!? My question is...can I talk to my boss about an increase in my salary when my department just got our yearly raises (even though I'm not happy about the raises) last week? And if I can, how do I approach him & her about this? I know the increase (should I miraculously get one) is going to be anything enormous but anything would help out.

Has anyone out there done this in where they've asked for a raise once they got a certification? If so, did you get it?

Any advice or info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks everyone!?!?!?! icon_thumright.gificon_thumright.gificon_thumright.gificon_thumright.gif
A Thing Of Beauty Is A Joy Forever

Comments

• Options
    /usr/usr Member Posts: 1,768
    Maybe it's just me, but I wouldn't ask for a raise in this situation...having just gotten annual raises and the fact that it's only the A+ cert...

BTW, I'm not saying that your A+ is worthless, it most certainly isn't. I just don't think that it alone warrants asking for a raise, but then again, I don't suppose it could hurt to ask.
  • Options
    PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    bigo1120 wrote: