Options

Would it be detrimental to accept entry level position over full time to finish BS:CS

CodeBloxCodeBlox Member Posts: 1,363 ■■■■□□□□□□
I have a really good chance of getting an entry level Help Desk position. I spoke with the employer and he told me to keep in contact and to finish A+ and Security+ first. I am also a student who has finished the associates of science in Computer Science. The plan WAS to continue onto the B.S CS however things seem to have changed since my dad passed about a year and a half ago. And by change I mean my progress toward the BS (Upper to years) has been extremely slow. I have no money to even take classes. The plan was to take some loans out. However this entry level position could possibly lead to a much better paying job than what i have now over time. Would you guys say its a mistake to take the full time job position over finishing the B.S? Who says I'll even be able to find a job after finishing with the B.S degree? I'm sure my dad would want me to realize things have changed since he is no longer here and ultimately the decision is mine. But I really see this position as a way into the industry. I told the employer in about two months I'd be finished with Sec+, A+, CCNA, and the active directory exam for MCITP. He told me that is exactly what he needs.
Currently reading: Network Warrior, Unix Network Programming by Richard Stevens

Comments

• Options
    cisco_troopercisco_trooper Member Posts: 1,441 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Take the job. Experience is what is going to get you bucks, and it sounds like you may need the money just to pay for school. Work on your degree part time on the side. Don't let your degree slip away. It isn't valuable to everyone, but some of the highest paying companies are going to want to see it. Stay away from loans if possible, but if you need them to get your degree finished then take them.
  • Options
    NinjaBoyNinjaBoy Member Posts: 968