Options

How necessary is the certification??

gouki2005gouki2005 Member Posts: 197
My cousin tells me this every time i am studying for the ccna security certification "why are you studying for the certification do you already take it the official course right" Me-" Yes but i think the certification will boost my it career" cousin-"no really with the course its enough"

what do you think?? is true do i need the certification or should leave and move on ??

Comments

• Options
    stuh84stuh84 Member Posts: 503
    HR teams at employers and recruiters don't search for "Cisco Security Course completion", they search for certifications. Take from that what you will.
    Work In Progress: CCIE R&S Written

CCIE Progress - Hours reading - 15, hours labbing - 1
  • Options
    AvidNetworkerAvidNetworker Member Posts: 25 ■□□□□□□□□□
    If it is just for your own self fulfillment, maybe he is right, but how would you demonstrate, at least on paper, to someone, that you are proficient with the CCNA material...the certification. I personally wouldn't take any advice from your cousin.
  • Options
    YahelYahel Member Posts: 42 ■■□□□□□□□□
    If it is just for your own self fulfillment, maybe he is right, but how would you demonstrate, at least on paper, to someone, that you are proficient with the CCNA material...the certification. I personally wouldn't take any advice from your cousin.
    I agree :)

+ I hate your cousin icon_lol.gif
    CCNA = Passed (01-02-2011)
    NEXT : CCNP ROUTE
  • Options
    FuturaFutura Member Posts: 191
    Me and Guy from work went on the official VMWare VCP course. Paid for by work.

The guy I went with slept through the course.

If you pass the exam you cannot sleep through the course.
  • Options
    mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    gouki2005 wrote: »
    what do you think??
    I think you should hang out with a different cousin.
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • Options