Should I take the A+?

JinuyrJinuyr Member Posts: 251 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone.

I am curious and was wondering if the community can give me their opinion. I have been working in the IT field for almost 10 years, and have been exposed to several different environments and tasks. I have always looked at the A+ as a good study guide and reference but have never convinced myself to take the certification. I currently hold the Network+ certification and am currently working on my Security+ followed by a number of Microsoft certfications to eventually earn my Enterprise Administrator before the end of the 3rd quarter of this year.

At this stage of my career, is there any value to this certification at this point? On one side, I feel that with the experience I have gained over the years and the A+ materials I have learned, I should put this knowledge to use in passing he exam. On the other hand, am I just wasting my resources in obtaining a certification that will not not really be applied to what I am doing?

My employers are fairly neutral about the whole certification process, so it's entirely for me if I decide to do it. I just don't know if I have priorities straight right now or if I'm just misinterpreting the value of this certification.

Comments

• darkerzdarkerz Member Posts: 431 ■■■■□□□□□□
    After 10 years of experience, I'm surprised you'd venture for the A+, ever since I went the MCITP:EDST7 and EDA7 route, every interviewer I've been with has assumed I was well beyond A+ knowledge. Which, I am.