Options

CISSP worth it?

NOC-NinjaNOC-Ninja Member Posts: 1,403
I currently work for NOC and have CCNA, CCNA-W, and CWNA. Also, one test away from CCNP-W and 2 tests away from CCNP. I'm really interested on security.

1. Is CISSP worth it to take?
  2. For the certified CISSP's, is the ROI high enough for all the time you spent on studying?
  3. How long does it usually take to study if I spend 3-4 hrs every weekday after work and 6-10hrs every weekend?
  4. How long did it take you to study?

Comments

• Options
    ibcritnibcritn Member Posts: 340
    Based on the fact that CISSP hits many requirements for DoDD 8570 (IAT III/IAM III) and HR/managers go goo-goo ga-ga over it. Yes its worth it.

It wont do too much as far as "technical" skills....sure you'll know how to spout out technical info, but wont develop practical "hard" technical skills like you see with Cisco exams.

I studied for 2 months with 3 hours a day after work and 4-5 hours on weekend...Last week I did a huge cram session studying 6 hours after work and 8 hours on day before exam (not really a good idea).

Spent a lot of time studying, but it has done a lot for me already and hey I am not even endorsed/certified fully yet :)
    CISSP | GCIH | CEH | CNDA | LPT | ECSA | CCENT | MCTS | A+ | Net+ | Sec+

Next Up: Linux+/RHCSA, GCIA
  • Options
    ibcritn wrote: »
    Based on the fact that CISSP hits many requirements for DoDD 8570 (IAT III/IAM III) and HR/managers go goo-goo ga-ga over it. Yes its worth it.

It wont do too much as far as "technical" skills....sure you'll know how to spout out technical info, but wont develop practical "hard" technical skills like you see with Cisco exams.

I studied for 2 months with 3 hours a day after work and 4-5 hours on weekend...Last week I did a huge cram session studying 6 hours after work and 8 hours on day before exam (not really a good idea).