do i need to buy a home lab?

saied45saied45 Member Posts: 30 ■■□□□□□□□□
recently at work i have started working with routers and switched. im still in the learning process but its very cool. i get to work with cisco wap 1242 and some routers and switches like 3875. i dont remeber the other model.
so im still learning but i know that i hook alot of switches with cascade cables to make them act as one. i also get to play with hooking up fiber optics and lastly i get to play with ios but im not sure how deep the training of the IOS will go.
so with these switches and routers in mind, do i need to buy a homelab? or i can use packettracer for the rest of the training to obtain ccna?

Comments

• wbosherwbosher Member Posts: 422
    Short answer, no, but highly recommended. Packet Tracer will be enough to get you through CCNA, but it can deliver some unsual results that you wouldn't get on real gear.

If money's a problem (when isn't it?), then try gns3 for the routing labs, and packet tracer for the switching labs.

Good luck. :)
  • saied45saied45 Member Posts: 30 ■■□□□□□□□□
    i always thought that a home lab was just so you could get fimilair with routers/ switches and ect. what exactly do you guys use your home labs for?
  • JollycorkJollycork Member Posts: 149
    saied45 wrote: »
    i always thought that a home lab was just so you could get fimilair with routers/ switches and ect. what exactly do you guys use your home labs for?

It's fun...and for testing "what ifs"....
  • ChipschChipsch Member Posts: 114
    Home labs are nice to have if you can afford it and have the room for it. GNS3 is great, the only pitfall is that it does not support switches. This has been worked around though. Believe some people that are regulars here actually tie a switch into their desktop NIC and GNS3 will interface with it that way. Not 100% on the details or implementation though.