Working in the Educational sector

falcon101falcon101 Member Posts: 51 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello all,

What is your opinion for working in the "IT part" of the educational field? Namely the question refers to IT Management/User support in a University and/or College.

I am curios to find out about opinions or experiences.

Thanks.

Comments

• andrew09andrew09 Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
    If you have the opportunity, do it! Just to give you a bit better of an idea of the situation, I have a 3 year college diploma in Computer Engineering (cisco focused). I'm 23 and have been working for a community college for a year and a half (on contracts).

PROs - Tons of funding and most gets passed down to the IT department to stay current. Salaries are better than most places. Work hours are regular.

CONs - LOTS of contract work. They spend money on multi-million dollar projects that eventually simply get scrapped (you work to accomplish nothing 80% of the time). 90% of the department is desktop support therefore server/networking jobs are very few and far in between.

Keep in mind that this is just MY experience. Perhaps others have had very different experiences. And although it seems like there's more negative than positive in my list, the job is great, pays great and I thoroughly enjoy it.
    Completed: [A+:2009, MCP, MCSA:2003, MCTS x6, MCITP:EDA7]

Studying for: [MCITP:SA (646), MCITP:EA (643, 647)]
  • MentholMooseMentholMoose Member Posts: 1,525 ■■■■■■■■□□
    andrew09 wrote: »
    PROs - Tons of funding and most gets passed down to the IT department to stay current. Salaries are better than most places. Work hours are regular.