Options

Salary and Negotiating Pay Raises

snowbird4lifesnowbird4life Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
So here is the situation:

I'm currently 23 and I worked as an intern all of senior year about 20/hours a week while in college for a promising public company making pretty good money as an intern working flexible hours. Upon graduation, the company offered me a full-time salaried position as a Systems Admin making $41,500/year. Having researched an average salary for my position in my area I wasn't completely thrilled with this but I was happy with the offer since it was obviously way more than I had made at any other job I had had before so I accepted and began working.

Anyway, I feel like I am pretty talented and a good worker and definitely a good catch for most companies. So raise and bonus time comes around a year later and my boss has been hinting about how "huge" my raise and bonus would be so naturally I am thinking I am finally getting some recognition and better pay so I was pretty excited.

We finally have the conversation and he tells me that I am getting a 8.02% raise to $45,037/annually. Wooo not too bad right? Except when I look over the compensation summary sheet, here is the breakdown:

2011 Compensation Summary:

Current Salary: $41,500
Merit increase: 2.50% $1,037
EMV Adjustment: 6.02% $2,500
New Salary: $45,037

EMV(Estimated Market Value): $56,400
Compa-ratio (Salary/EMV): 80%