Options

mcse or mcitp

ccnaomkarccnaomkar Member Posts: 187 ■■□□□□□□□□
what to choose

mcse (server 2003 extended support ends on 2015)

or

mcitp(server 2008 mainstream support on 2013)

i am new to server technology

just passed ccent and giving ccna in june

i have access to msdnaa

so i can pursue further cert of micosoft

what to choose

Comments

• Options
    MickQMickQ Member Posts: 628 ■■■■□□□□□□
    It's up to you really.

I started on the MCITP, even though I've been working with servers for the past decade.
    I never really got around to sitting the MCSE, but now some of my customers/clients are asking me for certs, so I'm most of the way through the MCITP and just got the CCNA.
    The funny thing is that I'm half thinking of just sitting the MCSE for my own personal satisfaction and to finally say, "ah yeah, got that" considering I've had the course material sitting beside my main machine for the past 6 years.
    So, with that little digression out of the way, it really depends on what you want. The thread "http://www.techexams.net/forums/mcts-mcitp-windows-2008-general/61258-mcse-dead-long-live-mcitp.html" more or less covers some of the questions you will ask.

If you really want to go with both MCSE and MCITP, you will find it cheaper to go via the MCSE route first and then do the upgrade exams, which will give you both qualifications. Just bear in mind that there are more exams to sit for the MCSE than there are for the MCITP.

Since you are new to server tech, you might want to just concentrate on the MCITP route as the recruiters will start looking for MCITP as the businesses finally invest in replacing old servers and upgrading.
  • Options
    earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    If I were you I'd go the MCSA route and then upgrade to MCITP. By the time you're done with the MCSE and MCITP the next version of server will be out andd your MCITP will already be old news.