Options

A few questions

GoldencupkakeGoldencupkake Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey all,

Been on the site a while, never actually signed up or posted until just yesterday. I have gotten an immense amount of help from this site that would have taken me quite a while to ascertain on my own, and for that I thank you guys. Anyway, to the point:

Just got my A+ icon_cheers.gif
Now I am looking for the next stop along the road of IT. I have some experience and would certainly need to learn some of the finer points of any cert I try to go after. That said, I am looking heavily at the Microsoft certs (because of the student discount mainly)

Q1: Should I go for the MCDST? It is expiring soon and I feel I could polish up on a few of the topics and easily get it. I plan on going for MCITP Enterprise Desktop Support Technician 7 and am not sure if the MCDST is worth the extra time.

Q2: I am now fairly certain of this, but I will go ahead and ask outright just to ensure clarity; The 72- series exams that are on discount for students would apply as if I had taken a 70- series, correct? They are the exact same except one is student designation and one is standard.

Q3: I have gotten my A+ as I stated previously and am looking to get back into the IT field. Currently, I am looking to spend some time doing hands on stuff while learning new things and getting into advanced technologies. What cert(s) would help me stand out among my peers when I am applying for either repair tech or jr IT in a major company?

I'll leave it at those for now. And again, thanks for your help. It has been immeasurable.

Comments

• Options
    xenodamusxenodamus Member Posts: 758
    1. I never went for either of those certs, so I can't really comment about their value.

2. Yes, 70-x and 72-x exams count the same on your MS transcript.