what if i miss out on the mcdst? help!

qwismqwism Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
Now hypothetically, or realistically, for some people, myself included.

I'm being a newbie here, but i thought not getting the mcdst would be the end of the world as my studying might be pointless, well not pointless in the matter of knowledge and learning and knowing my way around XP even more, but in the sense that i wouldn't be able to have a cert that would denote my knowledge of XP. (Background info, i just purchased the two MS PRESS books, 2nd edition, needed for the exams and will be pushing for them, and i have a background in using computers since i was like 6.)

I didn't realize there was an up to date thingie called MCP with these qualifications below needed. Am i correct to say that even if i happen to study and if i don't happen to be able to take or pass the test in time, for the mcdst, which might very well happen as life has a way of getting in the way of plans, that MCP is attained by just completing just a 70-271/70-272 regardless and will be okay?

I did a basic google search of MCP and found a link to this below for MCP, although i'm not able to find it specifically on the microsoft website for some reason.

Or how about this question. Say, i didn't complete the mcdst in time, should i be gearing myself for the mcitp edst? That's assuming the A+ isn't done yet. (i know i should, especially with no professional exp part of my life)

Ultimately I want to be able to get into basic tech support or something to get my foot in the door at the bare minimum.

Help anyone?

MCP BELOW

70-270 Exam: Installing, Configuring, and Administering Microsoft Windows XP Professional
70-271 Exam: Supporting Users and Troubleshooting a MS Windows XP OS
70-272 Exam: Supporting Users and Troubleshooting Desktop Applications
70-284 Exam: Installing, Configuring, and Administering Microsoft Exchange 2003 Server
70-290 Exam: Managing and Maintaining a Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Environment