Options

Next certifications to take. Comments wanted :-)

lordylordy Member Posts: 632 ■■■■□□□□□□
Dear all,

after passing LPIC-2 and CCNA I am now thinking about which certs to go for next.

Here is a little background on me: I'm turning 25 next month and have worked in IT since I was 19 so I have ~5 years of real world experience. I have never been to a university as I started working immediately after finishing my 12th year in school (you could probably compare this to a high school degree but I'm living in .DE). During the last years I mostly did system administration (focused on Linux and Solaris, a little Windows too) and some network administration (mainly switches and LANs, some dial-up and VPN).

As I'm now looking for a new job I want to pimp my resume a little icon_wink.gif

My plan currently looks something like this: Go for SCSA-9 (Sun Solaris Admin) to get my Solaris knowledge certified. After that I would like to try 70-270 to become a MCP (the free 2nd shot motivated me for this). Then I would like to take Security+ as it's both a nice standalone cert and counts as an elective towards MCSA (if I decide to get this).

I honestly don't wanna work in all M$ environments as I'm some kind of native UNIX admin icon_smile.gif However, I think that the chances on the job market would probably be increased a lot by an MCSA on my resume.

I would like to get some opinions and comment on this if possible icon_smile.gif

Best regards,
Lordy
Working on CCNP: [X] SWITCH --- [ ] ROUTE --- [ ] TSHOOT
Goal for 2014: RHCA
Goal for 2015: CCDP

Comments

• Options
    Ricka182Ricka182 Member Posts: 3,359
    I think you have a pretty good plan going. Unix experience is always a plus. I think you're right about the MCP as well, a lot of employers will see that ans Sec+, and see a diverse candidate with good IT knowledge in a broad spectrum.
    i remain, he who remains to be....
  • Options
    kobebriankobebrian Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
    LPIC-2 means LPI lv2??