Options

Teaming up to build an information system?

westwardwestward Member Posts: 77 ■■□□□□□□□□
Is anyone else here interested in building a financial information system to demonstrate their database, web, and programming skills as a team?

Comments

• Options
    RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
    What exactly do you have in mind?
  • Options
    Forsaken_GAForsaken_GA Member Posts: 4,024
    I already fully emulate an enterprise network as part of my lab setup (much love for VMWare), but I'm no developer. I shamelessly steal and deploy the hard work of others.
  • Options
    GoldenKnightGoldenKnight Member Posts: 31 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I already fully emulate an enterprise network as part of my lab setup (much love for VMWare), but I'm no developer. I shamelessly steal and deploy the hard work of others.

Wow, good work!
    Master of Science - Information Technology, Bachelor of Arts - Information Science, PMP Project Management Professional, CAPM Certified Associate in Project Management, MCP Microsoft Certified Professional, Six Sigma White Belt
  • Options
    What exactly do you have in mind?

One idea. I've noticed that so much of today's financial info systems are based on day-trading philosophy. For those that trade long-term, based on fundamental analysis, there isn't a good system that focuses on balance sheets to make a judgment on the health of a company. Some values, such as historical P/E values, are hard to come by.

I know that a screener for large-cap US stocks that rated companies by the health of their balance sheets, and by how and why their P/E is changing over time would be valuable to me.

How stable is their revenue over time?
    How stable are their operating expenses? If they change, then why?
    How stable is their dividend?
    Is their debt decreasing or increasing?