Options

Java - How do I do this?

westwardwestward Member Posts: 77 ■■□□□□□□□□
Creating a script that stores and generates invoices, with an invoice number that should increment.

Each time I call the method, it just generates Invoice "1". I know I need to move the declaration "invoiceNumber = 0" to outside the class so it is only called once, but where can it go so it is only called once, and will increment from there?

Also, is there an easy way to check if a variable exists? Using methods I know from php/jscript don't work since it calls an error when the variable doesn't exist.

Thank you!

Comments

• Options
    wastedtimewastedtime Member Posts: 586 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I don't see any source code?

While I am a novice java guy....
    To check to see if an object exist you can see if it is a null.

example:
    if (object == null) {
        //do something as the object doesn't exist.
    } else {
        //it does exist....now what?
    }

• Options
    RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
    wastedtime wrote: »
    I don't see any source code?

Always post some code! Without it your questions are more confusing than anything else. How are you storing the invoice number?

Personally I would just wrap any code accessing this variable in a try/catch and specifically deal with the NullPointerException.
    try
    {
         myNullVariable++;
    }
    catch(NullPointerException)
    {
         //Code to deal with the situation where the variable is null.
    }

• Options
    NightShade03NightShade03 Member Posts: 1,383 ■■■■■■■□□□
    westward wrote: »
    CEach time I call the method, it just generates Invoice "1". I know I need to move the declaration "invoiceNumber = 0" to outside the class so it is only called once, but where can it go so it is only called once, and will increment from there?