Options

Installing a Cisco IOS on a switch and a router

earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
I know this is a noob thread topic but, hey, I'm a Cisco noob.
I have a couple 2950 switches (also a 1721 and 2611 router)and have been trying to find exactly how to install the IOS and haven't found instructions that the common noob like I can follow.
Can some of you Cisco experts out there enlighten a noob like myself.
Thanks in advance
No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.

Comments

• Options
    solidxnakesolidxnake Registered Users Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
  • Options
    VAHokie56VAHokie56 Member Posts: 783
    earweed wrote: »
    I know this is a noob thread topic but, hey, I'm a Cisco noob.
    I have a couple 2950 switches (also a 1721 and 2611 router)and have been trying to find exactly how to install the IOS and haven't found instructions that the common noob like I can follow.
    Can some of you Cisco experts out there enlighten a noob like myself.
    Thanks in advance

Do they have existing code IOS on them? or are they booting to ROMMON and SWITCH?
    .ιlι..ιlι.
    CISCO
    "A flute without holes, is not a flute. A donut without a hole, is a Danish" - Ty Webb
    Reading:NX-OS and Cisco Nexus Switching: Next-Generation Data Center Architectures
  • Options
    okplayaokplaya Member Posts: 199
    Edit: Just realized you're asking for 2950's. Check this link instead.
  • Options
    veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I traditionally use TFTPD32 : an opensource TFTP server/service for windows : TFTP server

PM me if you need any extra help Earweed ;)
  • Options
    AD227529AD227529 Member Posts: 82 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Here's how I would do it. After you have the IOS file that you want to use:
    1. Download a copy of TFTP32 and install it.
    2. Copy your IOS image into the TFTP32 directory.