Options

Please critique (abuse) my resume, and a small backstory.

CenturionMarioCenturionMario Member Posts: 82 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have been viewing this forum for about 8 months now, and out of all the forums that I have viewed (I've been viewing/posting in forums since 199icon_cool.gif, this is the nicest forum I've ever seen, but without being too nice, and being very realistic. I've never posted an introduction message for that reason.

I'm 24 years old, and before trying to get my certifications, I thought that I was at a dead-end. I honestly believe this is my last chance, and if I don't make it, I will be working the same job(s) for the rest of my life, in essence, a bum. I tried Computer Science, but I just didn't click with programming, I tried HVAC, but I barely worked with tools, and even after studying, it wasn't the homework assignments that were tough, but it was the actual labs (building a furnace, fixing a refrigeration system unit, connecting an electrical unit without fail), including this, I rarely (if any) had partners to help me out (I was usually the only person without partners in the class), and the instructors weren't able (or didn't bother) to answer my questions. I then tried to get into business and marketing, but if you want to make money, you needed money, and I didn't want to take out any extra loans (I still owe some from school).

I didn't know what to do, but my brother told me to get into the computer industry (as a non-programmer, since I like hardware, and my previous stint in programming was a failure), and after viewing this forum, I gave it a shot and ordered the A+, Network+, Security+ books, and Watched Professor Messer's videos. After yesterday, I have passed all 3 (A+, Network+, Security+) exams somewhat convincingly (scored between 800-810 on all but one exam). I want to do the MCITP7 desktop certificate right now, but I would rather hold off and find a job first, but I want to get that certification done before this year.