Options

New SQL job responsibility

ChipschChipsch Member Posts: 114
So I am reaching out here to get an idea of where someone without any SQL experience should start. I am currently a senior network administrator (pure cisco) that is being looked at to do some Microsoft SQL work. Lack of staff in one department has led management to this possible outcome.

I have some knowledge in programming c++ and java through school but that is about it. Another gimmick to this is certification is required. Soooo where to start? Any help would be extremely appreciated. By the way, just because this would be something they have me doing on the side, doesn't mean I will be doing the minimum. I have this impulse to always do it right and fix it until its as perfect as I can make it.

If a programming language would be recommended what should I be looking at as well? Lots more questions that I can't quite spit out due to a warped mind after finding this out. Last night with a nice cold glass of beer for a while it seems.

Comments

• Options
    RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
    http://www.techexams.net/forums/sql-server-exams/52826-mcitp-dba-2008-resources.html

There are 3 books I would suggest upfront: the SQL Server in Action, T-SQL in 10 Minutes, and then DBA Survivor, which is not on page above. Those will certainly get you started.
  • Options
    Thank you so much for the response. So the link you posted would be to follow the proper certification path also? Normally i wouldn't concern myself with certs this early on but the company has a requirement that when you touch the technology you need to be certified within x amount of months.

So i will grab those three books you recommended and start looking at the link i suppose then. Any particular order that could be recommended for the certs also? Used to cisco stuff where it can be any order at the professional level.
  • Options
    Chipsch wrote: »