Options

Need advice on education, certification, and experience aspects of IT.

ArmymanisArmymanis Member Posts: 304
Hello Everyone,

Before bashing me, please let me tell you my situation. I have been on many IT forums who have not given any advice on the paths I should take in order to be able to get an Entry Level Help Desk or Entry Level PC Technician job. I hope this forum is a lot nicer to me, and will here me out.

First of all, I have been going to school to get my AA in Technical Support for the past 3 years and graduate with it in december. I currently hold my A+ certification, and am going to start preparing for the N+ certification. I have been applying to Entry Level jobs madly here for the past 6-7 months and have only gotten one interview, but did not aquire the job.

I am very passionate about IT and really want to get a job in IT and get out of the retail environment I am in. I am 21, and I am a hard worker, but my main problem is having direction. Once I get direction, I am really focused on completing the class, certification, or whatever it may be.

My question is, to get out of retail and onto an entry level help desk or PC Tech Job, what do you think I will need beyond my AA, and A+? Also, I know experience is important even with my 6 months of volunteering at the schools tech lab supporting computers, I still don't get call for an Interview.

I will begin studying for my N+ very soon. I truly believe this is the career path for me, and I hate that I have been bashed by other forums like dice and tech support forum saying that I should get out of IT. I know I have to start out at the bottom like everyone else. Will someone here please give me friendly advice and tell me what certifications are entry level and what is recognized highly in the IT field as far as Entry Level Certs?