Options

New to Microsoft Certifications

DPGDPG Member Posts: 780 ■■■■■□□□□□
What certification track would you recommend for someone new to Microsoft?

What material would you recommend? Does this material teach best practices or just how to pass the exams?

I have very little experience installing/configuring Server 2003/2008 and Exchange 2003/2010. Almost zero experience with SQL Server.

Comments

• Options
    Ivanr4g63Ivanr4g63 Member Posts: 77 ■■□□□□□□□□
    And you're trying to get the microsoft path because of work requirements or a career change, just to keep yourself markeatable for future job offers or a bit of 'all of the above'?

You can pass the windows Vista certification on a single exam and become MCP (i think they still call it that) that starts you in being microsoft certified, but are you looking for a specific career path?

MCITP will take you the server administrator/Systems admin road, but its a longer road and I believe it'll requiere more experience or lots of lab time if you have very lite experience on servers...

I suppose the question here is Where are you trying to go with microsoft certs?
  • Options
    DPGDPG Member Posts: 780 ■■■■■□□□□□
    This is mostly for work. I want myself and my staff to be more knowledgeable in Microsoft technologies since we are expanding our managed services.
  • Options
    MickQMickQ Member Posts: 628 ■■■■□□□□□□
    DPG wrote: »
    This is mostly for work. I want myself and my staff to be more knowledgeable in Microsoft technologies since we are expanding our managed services.

Give me a job.

Seriously though, it depends on what end you're looking for. It's like asking to be more knowledgeable about engineering, science, or IT.

I'm going to guess that you're coming from a mainly network background. The next main step would be into servers (Server 2008R2), then email (Exchange 2010), then depending on your customers, Sharepoint or SQL.