G2x Android Phone- Tips?

darkerzdarkerz Member Posts: 431 ■■■■□□□□□□
Alright. I'm a tech guy. I love computers. I love games. I love networking. I love cables, the smell of plastic, etc.

SO I thought I'd become official and get a 200$ on contract Dual Core phone from T-Mobile.

My battery without any rooting, power management, etc. lasts 15-16 hours. All I do is kill apps when my screen shuts off with that little Auto Task Killer... thing.

So.

What are your recommendations after rooting (or before) a phone of this caliber?

My main concern is this battery. I'd like to;

~Underclock to 600-650Mhz a core
~Reduct memory and CPU usage
~Of course, root the phone
~Use cool, fun, and also useful applications on this to justify the money spent by increasing productivity.

And let the waves rip in! icon_twisted.gif
:twisted:

Comments

• petedudepetedude Member Posts: 1,510
    darkerz wrote: »
    What are your recommendations after rooting (or before) a phone of this caliber?

Have a good enough credit card that you can buy a second if you "brick" the unit?

I can't imagine wanting to tweak anything "of this caliber". It should be nice enough out the gate if you're going to spend that kind of money on it. I dig Android lately, but anything over $100 should be given some serious thought to if you're going to have to mess with it. You start losing money VERY quickly after $100 if something gets messed up, even if it's a minor physical repair like a power button. And definitely, anything Android over $250, you're halfway to an iPad-- which is what you should have bought in order to avoid having to spend the value of your time pounding on it.
    Even if you're on the right track, you'll get run over if you just sit there.
    --Will Rogers
  • okplayaokplaya Member Posts: 199