A+ or Microsoft to get more bang for my buck/time

elosogrande7076elosogrande7076 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone...I have been reading the forums for a while but finally decided to sign up. I just turned 30 and trying to get myself into in actually IT job working with . I pretty much taught myself computers and do some repair/upgrade work for friends and family. i have my Bachelors and no certs. My current and past jobs have been customer serviced based (little to no technology based or proprietary systems.)

I have been looking at at different things in IT and really am interested in systems and helping people. I was thinking about trying to get a jr. systems admin jobs. I will be honest to say that tho Im not thrilled at my current job i blessed to have one making decent money.

I have been debating on whether to get A+ or start with a Microsoft cert. On one hand, I see people are saying that its not what as asked about anymore and that by getting another cert, pretty much shows that you have that A+ knowledge. On the other hand, I see people saying that no matter what level they are that cert is still asked about or sought out.

With a thread I just read about the MS certs going up in price, I was leaning to getting the MCITP cert (but then I dont know which version to get Windows Client, Enterprise Client SA or EA, etc). I would hate to pay the 400 for the A+ and then start working on MS certs when it would help me get a job faster by going the MS cert route first.

Any help you can give I greatly appreciate. I love working with people and computers and would like to start my career pat. THanks

Comments

• AkaricloudAkaricloud Member Posts: 938
    I recently got my MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Support Technician 7 certification and it seems to be pulling it's weight more than an A+ would.

I've applied at places that say they require an A+ and they don't seem to mind that I have a MCITP instead.