Options

What's a more creative career being an Exchange Admin or an CCNP?

The DoctorThe Doctor Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all, I am new to the forums and I need some advice about what I should do next in career. I've been doing general IT work for about last 10 years. Most doing a combo of help desk and server admin. I sick of being a generalist and I want to be something more specific. At my current position I mostly just answer help desk tickets and it's so mind numbing. I need a career that forces me to creative and innovative.

I am looking into doing either Exchange 2010 or Cisco (CCNP to be exact). So my question is which one will force me to the most creative and innovative?

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    I don't think there is a clear cut answer to that question. I think it would more come down to the role you are in. Someone has to get creative and design both aspects of the infrastructure.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    EveryoneEveryone Member Posts: 1,661
    I'd say Exchange, but I'm biased. :P The only problem now is Exchange will limit where you can work. A lot of companies have jumped on the "cloud" bandwagon, and e-mail is one of the 1st things they throw out there. No on premises Exchange means no need for an Exchange Admin. So now you either have to work for a service provider, or work at a place that doesn't trust their e-mail system to someone else and keeps it in-house. You'll also find that you'll be doing a lot more than Exchange work at most places. I do Exchange, all of our AD, DNS, DHCP, and more. This is at a company with more than 400 servers in our datacenter, and over 3000 employees.