Options

Failed 70-680 twice.

30173017 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Brand new to this forum and website.

I successfully passed Network+ & Security+ without any hiccups.

I failed the 70-680 exam twice now, embarrassed to say it. The first time, I rushed it, second time thought I passed but got a worse score.

These fails were within two months, the most frustrating part was that I was thinking I would take this cert first before 70-640 because I am new to Microsoft certs and I would take this easier exam. This process has kind of turned me off to Microsoft certs. I work primarily in a Windows environment, but am debating what path to take next, as I am leaning towards wanting to avoid Microsoft exams.

I need advice on whether to pursue Project +, Linux+, CCNA, or focus my career direction more towards the Security end.

I am having trouble figuring out where I want to see my career path go. Any advise would be helpful.

icon_study.gif

Comments

• Options
    Excellent1Excellent1 Member Posts: 462 ■■■■■■■□□□
    Welcome to TE :)

First, let me be the first to tell you that you shouldn't be embarrassed. The 70-680 is no joke, and a lot of people have failed it. My advice (random guy on the internet, so take it with a grain of salt) is to take stock of the resources you've been using to study for this exam, evaluate what isn't working, and make a new plan of attack. You have failed twice, so you know that what you're currently using/doing isn't working.

Without knowing what you're using, I can tell you that the Don Poulton book was a decent (not perfect) resource, along with the MS Press book. Also, the Darril Gibson 685/686 book is a good one for this exam, even though it doesn't focus specifically on the 680 objectives.