Icnd1

Guile101Guile101 Registered Users Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,

I am currently studying for this using wendell odom's book. I dont have much experience at all with switches so my knowledge is mainly theory at the moment.

From reading various forums there is not much emphasis on configuring switches etc on icnd1 so I was wondering do I need to buy lab equipment, simulation tools to prepare for the icnd1 test.

is there much simulation involved? Should using packet tracer be sufficient for ccent?

Is there any good free labs out there to practice.

Thanks in advance.icon_wink.gif

Comments

• alan2308alan2308 Member Posts: 1,854 ■■■■■■■■□□
    If you have a copy of Packet Tracer, it will get you through the CCENT and the CCNA. Though it cannot solve the "I've never touched a real router and/or switch" problem, so keep that in mind as well.
  • mikedisd2mikedisd2 Member Posts: 1,096 ■■■■■□□□□□
    There's definitely labbing involved. If you don't touch the IOS, there's no point sitting for this exam. Packet Tracer will suffice.
  • jamesleecolemanjamesleecoleman Member Posts: 1,899 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Packet tracer will work for most of the material for the ICND1 but it doesn't support a few commands so you'll have to memorize them.
    Booya!!
    WIP : | CISSP [2018] | CISA [2018] | CAPM [2018] | eCPPT [2018] | CRISC [2019] | TORFL (TRKI) B1 | Learning: | Russian | Farsi |
    *****You can fail a test a bunch of times but what matters is that if you fail to give up or not*****
  • AD227529AD227529 Member Posts: 82 ■■□□□□□□□□