Options

ESXi, vSphere, vCenter Can you explain the correlation?

ITVinceITVince Member Posts: 143
I'm very new to virtualization, just familiar with setting up basic VMWare Workstations for test labs. However at work, higher up sys admins are looking into virtualizing servers company wide where it will prove cost effective. I've been reading through setup documentation and I see common references such as ESXi, vSphere, vCenter

Here's my basic understanding thus far....

ESXi is a O/S independent install that you install on a beefed up "host" server, say 64GB RAM, yadda yadda.

This host server is then attached to a SAN device, and this SAN device houses your data stores for your various virtual machines you want to install.

Then is vSphere just a client that allows you to access / manage / configure your VM's?

Where does a vCenter come in to play here? Ours is apparently housed at corporate in another state...what is its central role?

Just looking for a high level 30,000 foot view of how this software is setup and relates to one another in a corporate enviornment for curiosities sake. Thanks guys look forward to your responses icon_thumright.gif
Currently studying for:
MCTS 70-642 Network Infrastructure

Comments

• Options
    vColevCole Member Posts: 1,573 ■■■■■■■□□□
    ITVince wrote: »
    I'm very new to virtualization, just familiar with setting up basic VMWare Workstations for test labs. However at work, higher up sys admins are looking into virtualizing servers company wide where it will prove cost effective. I've been reading through setup documentation and I see common references such as ESXi, vSphere, vCenter

ESXi is a O/S independent install that you install on a beefed up "host" server, say 64GB RAM, yadda yadda.

This host server is then attached to a SAN device, and this SAN device houses your data stores for your various virtual machines you want to install.