Options

Becoming a Programmer

the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
I've decided to formulate a backup plan if my current plans don't pan out. I'm looking into maybe becoming a programmer. I took a bunch of courses in High School (VB, C++, Java) and in college I took VB.net and Java (again). I was a decent programmer and probably would have been a good one if I stuck to it for 4 years through college. The past three years I have been doing IT (helpdesk, servers, networking, and some security work). I'd like to think that perhaps this will give me an advantage as a programmer, but who knows. The questions I have is, has anyone made this jump? I am aiming more towards web programming and I still have to figure out which way I will go (open source or Microsoft). My worry is the lack of formal education, what will companies think? I would need at least a year to get up to speed (probably longer). Just looking for a little advice...
WIP:
PHP
Kotlin
Intro to Discrete Math
Programming Languages
Work stuff

Comments

• Options
    veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Out of curiosity, what do you REALLY want to do? No offense but you seem to be jumping around a bit. Not long ago I remember you saying that you were thinking about getting away from IT all together.
  • Options
    RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
    What is your current position and what other IT jobs have you held?
  • Options
    phantasmphantasm Member Posts: 995
    Let me be blunt. If you want to be a programmer, you need a B.S. degree in Computer Science. No one will take you serious without it. So, right now, you need to have a come to Jesus with yourself and decide what you want to do.. IT or program software. Sorry, but that's how it works.
    "No man ever steps in the same river twice, for it's not the same river and he's not the same man." -Heraclitus
  • Options
    Cisco InfernoCisco Inferno Member Posts: 1,034 ■■■■■■□□□□