70-680 - Couple of questions...

SdotLowSdotLow Member Posts: 239
I've been browsing the forums for a couple weeks now trying to figure out a direction for pursuing certifications.

1) How valuable is picking up the Net+ cert if I plan on going the route of pursuing MS certs (starting with 70-680 and either going after the 70-685 or moving to the EA path)?

2) I have very little "on the job" experience, mainly assisting with coworkers issues and acting as a kind of liaison with our network guy. My A+ that I got 10 years ago after getting out of high school has done nothing for me, which is making me question whether spending the money to pick up the Net+ Cert would be worth it. Is this a valid assumption?

3) I've read a lot of conflicting posts about the best books to get for the 70-680 exam. Does anyone have any idea when the second revision of the MS press book is going to be released? And how good are the CBT nuggets for 70-680?

Thanks for any advice!

Comments

• PsoasmanPsoasman Member Posts: 2,687 ■■■■■■■■■□
    The certs you work for are often determined by the path you want to take.

That being said, the Network+ will give you good, foundational knowledge that should help you.

You could start with the 680 and 685, getting you the MCITP:EST cert. You could then start on the MCITP:EA track.

As far as 680 books go, the MS book has errors, but you can get the errata threads for that. I have read through the MS 680, 685, 686 books, and Darril's book.
    I haven't heard when the 2nd edition is coming out.
  • SdotLowSdotLow Member Posts: 239
    Psoasman wrote: »
    That being said, the Network+ will give you good, foundational knowledge that should help you.

You could start with the 680 and 685, getting you the MCITP:EST cert. You could then start on the MCITP:EA track.

This is precisely what I was thinking of doing. Thank you very much for your reply.