Options

GCFW or GCIA? Or..?

CircuitMeltdownCircuitMeltdown Registered Users Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have a college degree in network security (information systems) and my Security+ (passed with a 900), and Network+. I know a little bit about system administration and system hardening from school, and from playing around with Windows Server and Linux Red Hat. I have one year experience in the Information Assurance/Cyber Security field. I write policy documents about the security of interconnections between two different agencies. My company recently promoted me, gave me a big raise, and offered to pay for training. I need to decide which training I want.

I want more technical experience, and I originally thought about taking the GSEC, or the CCNA Security, and getting the official training for either. But after talking to a senior manager (in Cyber Security) that routinely helps others figure out what career path to take, and which certifications to take, he said that the GSEC is not really looked upon as better than the Security+ by the industry at this time, and a friend of mine that took and passed the GSEC a few years ago said that it is basically half Security+ knowledge, and half system admin knowledge, and the sys admin part of it is really hard. He said that he took the SANS class and the cert test as a few others in his company and was the only one that passed because of the in depth Windows questions. He only knew enough about that because he had been a sys admin for several years. The senior manager I talked to recommended the GCIA, the GCIH, or the GCFA. He especially recommended the GCIH, although he said that it might be better to have the GCIA before taking the GCIH, and then the GCFA would be after that. But, that I could just skip to the GCIH if I wanted.