Options

Learning Linux?

Cpl.KlingerCpl.Klinger Member Posts: 159
I'm not a Linux newbie by any means (dual boot Win7 and Unbuntu 11 currently), but I wanted to get a better foundation in Linux with a distro that actually would require some work and learning. Ubuntu is nice, but acts too much like Windows, and at times seems a bit too easy to work with. I've thought about going to RedHat, but wasn't sure. Basically, if you were telling someone going deeper into the tech sector, which distro would you tell them to learn on? SuSE, RedHat, Ubuntu, Debian? Something else?
"If you can't fix it, you don't own it"
"Great things have small beginnings."

Comments

• Options
    Forsaken_GAForsaken_GA Member Posts: 4,024
    I'd recommend learning Debian and Red Hat (and by Red Hat, I mean one of the rebuild distros, such as CentOS or Scientific Linux. Scientific Linux is presently the best choice for Red Hat 6, as the CentOS crew has been doing some serious drag ass when it comes to keeping current).

Most distro's these days are going to be derivatives of one of the two. All distro's have their little quirks, but the major differences tend to be in package management, so I think it's best for folks looking to learn linux from the server admin side to be familiar with aptitude and yum.
  • Options
    ally_ukally_uk Member Posts: 1,145 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Linux+ is the way to go, if you can afford it highly rate the train signal videos :)
    Microsoft's strategy to conquer the I.T industry

" Embrace, evolve, extinguish "
  • Options
    hiddenknight821hiddenknight821 Member Posts: 1,209 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Although, I haven't tried this, but why hasn't anyone suggested building linux from scratch?

I'm gonna consider doing this once I start my Linux+ study. I thought I would have time and money to do it quickly last summer, but who am I kidding. I probably would need a year to master this thing.
  • Options
    EveryoneEveryone Member Posts: 1,661