Options

Little to no experinece, how do I break into the field?

giggitygiggity Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Currently, All I can claim is an associate in computer support, A+ certification, 4 months of college internship and one 2 week project assignment of basically copying and pasting user data to new laptops.

I had only 3 phone interviews since I graduated in 2010 and failed all of them(including one today), because they ask mostly generic customer service related questions, which I have no experience in.

Before I decided the fantasy of getting a job in computers I was doing warehouse work. That was way back in 2007. I've made the mistake of going to school full-time and not working and now I am paying the price. Now that I have a college degree, certification and work related to computers, I am now overqualified even to get a job in warehouse.

I feel that I am in a deadzone, underqualified for entry-level help desk and overqualified for warehouse work. What do I do to gain experience in IT? or should I just give up entirely? (some people aren't cut out for white-collar jobs)

Comments

• Options
    EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Start working on a CCENT/MCTS/MCP. That'll get your resume get picked from the pile. That being said, dont get discouraged. If it makes you feel any better, I'll tell you my story in a few lines.

I did my BS in Telecomm Engineering and couldnt find a related job whatsoever. Some wise (!?!) person advised me to get an MS which he said would definitely get me a job. Very very wrong. When I applied for those entry level roles and chucked in my BS and MS degrees in there, every HR baboon would go "O you are too qualified for this position". I couldnt find a Telecomm/IT job for about a year, this was over 5 years ago. I finally landed one at an ISP and have been quite lucky to get the role I currently have.