Options

Could use some advice regarding these job offers

pertpert Member Posts: 250
Background:
I live in a small town of about 60k pop. I graduated last year from a tech school that is part of the Cisco academy. While going to school I worked help desk doing level 1 support for 18months. Then I got a job doing second level support as an intern there. 90% of my direct experience is non networking related support. Though I do call manager administration and assisted Network team with Cisco refresh projects for phones and switches.

I've worked at this company for 18months as well, still an intern. The company is medium sized, but the IT dept is not large. There hasnt been any openings since I've started. Between semesters at school I got my A+ & N+. After I graduated I finished the CCNA and am taking my CCNP tests now. My primary ambition is to be a Network Engineer and there is nothing I want more.

Situation:
I have a great reputation at my current company. They broke the rules to keep me on because I've done a great job. Internships are supposed to end at 8months one way or the other, but positions here just dont seem to open up in IT.

They are going to be opening up a Network Engineer position, its supposed to go up July 1st for internal candidates. I would be the frontrunner for this position and I dont think there is anyone else internally who is interested and qualified (though I could be wrong). Its also possible that it may not go up by July 1st. If it doesn't, they will need to resubmit it under the new IT company that is going to be formed on July 2nd, which would take months...and could possibly never happen.

So while waiting around on this I've been applying elsewhere. I've got 2 job offers, so this is the situation: